Data Realms Fan Forums http://868000.nnhp.asia/ |
|
Determining whether something is underground http://868000.nnhp.asia/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=31705 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Djinn [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:12 am ] |
Post subject: | Determining whether something is underground |
More questions! Is there a way you can tell whether something's underground or not? I know Zalo's diggerator had something to check that, but I cannot make hide or tails of it and it also doesn't work in this version. Any ideas? |
Author: | Abdul Alhazred [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:53 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Determining whether something is underground |
You can cast a ray upwards, and if it collides with terrain the point you cast the ray from is probably under ground. |
Author: | p3lb0x [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Determining whether something is underground |
Alternatively, you could cast a fan of 3 or so rays to avoid hitting a single piece of debris or seeing if a character is standing in a doorway. However, I am not sure if this would too computationally intensive for too little gain. |
Author: | Technomancer [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Determining whether something is underground |
If you wanted to find if something just doesn't have line of sight to the air as a way of measuring "underground-ness", theoretically you could also do something like Code: if SceneMan:CastStrengthSumRay(self.Pos,SceneMan:MovePointToGround(Vector(self.Pos.X,0),1,1),0,128) >= 5 then --You are under at least 5 strength units worth of terrain (admittedly not much, you could adjust that), do stuff else --You are under only a small bit of scrap or nothing, aka above ground, do other stuff end Haven't tested it, but this would likely work with overhangs and/or tall ceilings. Would still have the issue of only being a single ray and therefore not noting if you're in say a doorway. Would also probably be terrible for deep levels, so you might want to do something like this instead: Code: local foundGround = SceneMan:MovePointToGround(Vector(self.Pos.X,0,1); if SceneMan:GetShortestDistance(self.Pos,foundGround,false) > 800 then if SceneMan:CastStrengthSumRay(self.Pos,foundGround,1,1),0,128) >= 5 then --You are under at least 5 strength units worth of terrain (admittedly not much, you could adjust that), do stuff else --You are under only a small bit of scrap or nothing, aka above ground, do other stuff end else --Use one of the other ways to check if underground I guess, or maybe do a check not from the sky (so you'd do SceneMan:MovePointToGround(Vector(self.Pos.X,math.min(self.Pos.Y + 500,SceneMan.SceneHeight/2),1) or something like that) end Maybe this is overcomplicating things though.. |
Author: | zalo [ Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:48 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Determining whether something is underground |
For future lua explorers: Code: SceneMan:FindAltitude(Pos, 0,0); Returns offset in relation to highest piece of terrain at Pos. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |